ThoroughBred Racing

Updated Melbourne Cup order of entry

CONNECTIONS of several runners entered for Saturday’s Lexus Hotham Handicap can now breathe a sigh of relief after moving above the Melbourne Cup ballot zone following the withdrawal of Marmelo and Ispolini.

The Chris Waller-trained Youngstar is now safely in the Melbourne Cup final 24 after moving to 21 on the ballot order, with Neufbosc (22) and Sound (23) now also guaranteed a start in Australia’s most famous race.

Herbert Power Stakes winner The Chose One has been elevated to 24th but could be demoted given the winner of Saturday’s Lexus Hotham Handicap becomes exempt from ballot.

Sound, Neufbosc and Youngstar have all accepted for the Lexus Hotham Handicap but connections may opt to by-pass Saturday and head straight to Tuesday without another run.

Irish-mare True Self, runner-up in the Geelong Cup behind Prince Of Arran, has moved up to 27th in the order of entry for the Melbourne Cup.



The final field of 24 will be announced for the Melbourne Cup on Saturday afternoon.

Ballot orderHorseTrainerWeight
1MER DE GLACE (JPN)Hisashi Shimizu56kg
2SURPRISE BABY (NZ)Paul Preusker53.5kg
3STEEL PRINCE (IRE)Anthony Freedman52.5kg
4CROSS COUNTER (GB)Charlie Appleby57.5kg
5MIRAGE DANCER (GB)Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young55.5kg
6SOUTHERN FRANCE (IRE)Ciaron Maher & David Eustace55.5kg
7CONSTANTINOPLE (IRE)David & B Hayes & T Dabernig52.5kg
8MASTER OF REALITY (IRE)Joseph O’Brien55.5kg
9IL PARADISO (USA)Aidan O’Brien52.5kg
10LATROBE (IRE)Joseph O’Brien55kg
11ANGEL OF TRUTHGwenda Markwell53.5kg
12MUSTAJEER (GB)Kris Lees55kg
13HUNTING HORN (IRE)Aidan O’Brien55kg
14ROSTROPOVICH (IRE)David & B Hayes & T Dabernig55kg
15MAGIC WAND (IRE)Aidan O’Brien53.5kg
16TWILIGHT PAYMENT (IRE)Joseph O’Brien55kg
17PRINCE OF ARRAN (GB)Charlie Fellowes54kg
18FINCHE (GB)Chris Waller54kg
19RAYMOND TUSK (IRE)Richard Hannon54kg
20VOW AND DECLAREDanny O’Brien52kg
21YOUNGSTARChris Waller52kg
22NEUFBOSC (FR)David & B Hayes & T Dabernig53.5kg
23SOUND (GER)Michael Moroney53.5kg
24THE CHOSEN ONE (NZ)Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman52kg
25DOWNDRAFT (IRE)Joseph O’Brien53.5kg
26PATRICK ERIN (NZ)Chris Waller53kg
27TRUE SELF (IRE)William Mullins51.5kg
28RAHEEN HOUSE (IRE)William Haggas53kg
29SIR CHARLES ROADLance O’Sullivan & Andrew Scott52.5kg
30GALLIC CHIEFTAIN (FR)Archie Alexander52.5kg
31DAL HARRAILD (GB)Ciaron Maher & David Eustace52.5kg
32GREY LION (IRE)Matthew Smith52.5kg
33HAKY (IRE)John Hammond52kg
34BRIMHAM ROCKS (GB)Chris Waller51.5kg
35AZURO (FR)Ciaron Maher & David Eustace50.5kg
36HUSH WRITER (JPN)Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott50kg
37VALAC (IRE)David & B Hayes & T Dabernig50kg
38SULLY (NZ)Trent Busuttin & Natalie Young50kg
39WALL OF FIRE (IRE)Ciaron Maher & David Eustace50kg