ThoroughBred Racing

Moreira exits Hong Kong

Moreira exits Hong Kong

Four-time Hong Kong champion jockey Joao Moreira has relinquished his Hong Kong riding licence as he prepares to end his career in the saddle next year.

The Hong Kong Jockey Club (HKJC) issued a statement on Wednesday night advising of Moreira’s decision.

“The Licensing Committee has approved an application received from Jockey Joao Moreira to withdraw his licence issued by the Club for the 2022/23 racing season, with immediate effect,” the HKJC statement read.



Moreira has been inactive for the past two months, undergoing platelet-rich plasma therapy on his left hip with the 39-year-old convalescing alongside his family in Brazil.

“I was told by the doctors that if I wasn’t really keen to keep facing this pain, I should consider retiring,” Moreira told the South China Morning Post.

Moreira is planning to ride at next month’s Longines Hong Kong International Races, committing to partner Japanese competitors Resistencia and Lei Papale with riding stints around the world, including Australia, acting as a ‘farewell tour’ during 2023.

“I want a proper ending because the way I left a few months ago is not how I want it to end in Hong Kong,” Moreira said.

“If I want to ride for six more months, being based in Hong Kong means I can’t travel anywhere.

“If I go back there and finish the season, and then I want to travel around the world and ride in different places, that means I’d have to ride for another year. I’m not sure I want to do that because the pain I’ve been going through is too great.”

Moreira has been one of Hong Kong’s greatest riders, winning 1,234 races since moving to the jurisdiction in October 2013.


  • Hong Kong Champion Jockey (2014/15, 2015/16, 2016/17 & 2020/21)
  • Longines International Jockeys Championship winner (2012);
  • Japan’s World All-Star Jockeys winner (2015)
  • Singapore Champion Jockey (2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013)
  • Brazilian Eclipse Award winner (2006/07 & 2007/08)
  • Hong Kong record for most wins in a season (170 in 2016/17);
  • Ride eight winners on a single meeting in Brazil (Cidade Jardim in March 2006), Singapore (Kranji in September 2013) and Hong Kong (Sha Tin in March 2017).